The church of Santa Maria del Giglio boasts very ancient origins, going way back to the X and XII centuries, epochs for which we have confirmed reports of reconstruction work subsequent to serious destruction due to fires. Originally built to a Byzantine basilican plan with three naves, the church was frequently remodeled over the centuries, and was then totally rebuilt in 1680 with the present hall church with flat ceiling, with rather shallow side chapels and chancel. The church façade is particularly significant, built with money bequeathed by Antonio Barbaro, the "Capitano da mar," who, upon his death in 1679 after an illustrious military and political career, wanted the church to be transformed into a full-fledged funeral monument to his own glories and those of his family. We see his sculpted image standing above his sarcophagus framed by a marble cloth, visible between the coupled columns of the second order of the façade, while below, in the niches, we see statues of his brothers surrounded by panels with battle scenes and relief maps of cities that make reference to Antonio's military triumphs, while statues of allegorical figures abound. Inside the church, along with two major canvases by Jacopo Tintoretto, we also find a work of great value, the only painting by Peter Paul Rubens to be conserved in Venice, a splendid Virgin and Child with the Little St. John.