The Orseolo Dock

Included in:   St. Marco Tour

The Orseolo dock was opened in 1863 during the city renovation. In order to allow the gondolas to approach the historical centre, many buildings were demolished, in particular the palaces belonging to the Orseolo family. The historical “Cavalletto Hotel”, where sculptor Antonio Canova died, was also demolished, to be later rebuilt according to the new rules. Being Bacino Orseolo very close to Saint Mark’s Square, is one of the most overworked dock for the trips on the gondolas.